Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Lookout | January 23, 2022

Scroll to top


‘The Lookout’ staff earns six awards

‘The Lookout’ staff earns six awards MPA awards MPA awards MPA awards
  • On March 24, 2020

The Lookout staff earned six awards in the 2019 College Better Newspaper Contest, sponsored by the Michigan Press Association.

“We had an excellent newspaper staff during the 2018-19 school year,” The Lookout Adviser Larry Hook said. “These awards serve as a great example of the strong efforts put forth by that staff.”

The lone first-place winner for The Lookout in the 2019 competition was captured by former Photo Editor Brynne Luter in the “Feature Photo” category. She won with her colorful front-page photo of the tree-lighting ceremony at the State Capitol in 2018 during the “Silver Bells in the City” festivities.

Luter also earned an honorable-mention award in the “Best Photographer” category for her photo from the 2018 LCC theater production of “Hair.”

Former Associate Editor Sarah Barney also won two awards in the competition. She took second place in the “News Story” category for her coverage of “National Coming Out Day” at LCC in 2018. She also earned third place in the “Non-Front Page Design” category for her full-page spread promoting Election Day in 2018.

Former Editor in Chief Ashlee Buhler took second place in the “Best Writer” division for her story titled, “Family uses tragedy to give life to others.”

Former Staff Writer Alejandro Gonzales earned a third-place award in the “News-Only Photo” category for his photo of Lansing’s 9/11 ceremony in 2018.

Members of the Montana Press Association reviewed 1,044 entries submitted by 20 Michigan colleges for the 2019 contest. Winners were announced March 12.

“It is more important than ever to recognize and encourage good, impactful journalism,” said Joanne Williams, president of the Michigan College Press Association and associate professor of journalism at Olivet College.

“That is what our college newspapers are doing, and with support and recognition from contests and professionals in the field, that will continue. Our experienced faculty and advisers will see to it as well.”