Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Lookout | September 28, 2021

Scroll to top


‘The Lookout’ wins first-place award

‘The Lookout’ wins first-place award

The Lookout, LCC’s student newspaper, was awarded first place in the Michigan College Press Association’s annual 2017 Better Newspaper Contest on Thursday, May 10.

The presentation took place during the Michigan Press Association’s 150th anniversary journalism conference at the Kellogg Center at Michigan State University. The award was for Division 3 college newspapers; those published less than weekly.

Joanne Williams, associate professor of journalism and mass communications at Olivet College, was among those in attendance at the awards ceremony.

“It is more important than ever to recognize and encourage good, impactful journalism,” Williams said. “This is what our college newspapers are doing, and with support and recognition from contests and professionals in the field, that will continue.”

Larry Hook, adviser of The Lookout for the past 14 years, said the award is a tribute to his staff’s dedication.

“This is a great honor for our staff members; they worked very hard for this recognition,” Hook said. “Considering LCC offers limited classes in journalism, the students are left to learn a lot about the profession in the office and on the job. Our employees take their jobs very seriously and do outstanding work, as this award indicates.”

The award is for the work performed by The Lookout staff during the 2016-17 school year. Members of that staff included Editor in Chief Aaron Emerson, Associate Editor Aaron Wilton, Page Designer Nicole Cade, Sports Editor Brodee Gillam, Arts & Entertainment Editor Hannah Anderson, Photo Editor Nick Thompson, Sales Manager Lurah Peterson, and staff writers Idman Gabayre, Haneen Hammad and Eric Joseph.

Wilton said he is proud to have been a member of award-winning staff. He said the staff had good chemistry and a strong group of returnees from the previous year’s staff.

“This is official recognition of a job well done,” Wilton said. “It was a job that we all felt like we were doing well. We felt like we deserved some recognition, although first place was not expected.”

In addition to the Newspaper of the Year award, The Lookout staff also earned 13 other awards in the 2017 MCPA competition. They are as follows:

News photo – first place, Nick Thompson;
Sports photo – first place, Nick Thompson;
Best photographer – second place, Nick Thompson;
Front page design – second place, Nicole Cade;
Sports news/features – second place, Brodee Gillam;
News story – second place, Aaron Emerson;
Feature photo – third place, Nicole Cade;
Sports news/features – third place, Brodee Gillam;
Column writing – third place, Haneen Hammad;
News photo – honorable mention, Nick Thompson;
Best writer – honorable mention, Aaron Emerson;
Feature story – honorable mention, Aaron Emerson;
Online newspaper – honorable mention, The Lookout staff.

To view past issues of The Lookout, go to