Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Lookout | April 13, 2021

Scroll to top


The staff of The Lookout newspaper earns first-place journalism award

The staff of The Lookout newspaper earns first-place journalism award
The Lookout

The staff of The Lookout, LCC’s official newspaper, earned a first-place award in the 2015-16 American Scholastic Press Association’s annual competition.

The competition includes high school and college newspapers and yearbooks from all over the United States. The Lookout won in the competition for college newspapers that are published less than weekly.

This was the first time The Lookout was entered in the ASPA contest.

“We entered our newspaper in this competition because there are judges who critique our staff’s work,” explained The Lookout Adviser Larry Hook. “I felt like this would be a good way to get some constructive criticism from some professionals in the journalism industry.

“It really was a bonus that our newspaper staff earned a first-place award in the competition. But it wasn’t a total surprise – I knew we had a great staff during the past year that produced some outstanding work.”

Judges in the competition rated The Lookout very high in page design, art, advertising, illustrations and creativity. Content coverage and editing were areas that could use a bit of improvement, the judges stated.

Overall, The Lookout earned 920 of a possible 1,000 points in the competition.

This was the second significant award The Lookout staff won in the past two months. In April, the staff earned first place for best overall design in the Michigan Community College Press Association competition.

The Lookout also took second place for general excellence in the MCCPA contest.

Members of the 2016 staff at The Lookout were Jeremy Kohn (editor in chief), Shelby Schueller, Jaimie Bozack, Richard Schenck, Aaron Emerson, Aaron Wilton, Brian Wells, Lurah Peterson, Nikki Nicolaou, Emma Scott and Nicole Cade.