Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Lookout | February 28, 2021

Scroll to top


‘The Lookout’ earns first-place award

‘The Lookout’ earns first-place award
  • On August 9, 2017

The staff of The Lookout, LCC’s official college newspaper, earned a first-place award in the 2017-18 American Scholastic Press Association’s annual competition.

The competition includes high school and college newspapers and yearbooks from all over the United States. The Lookout won in the category for college newspapers that are published less than weekly.

This was the second straight year The Lookout earned a first-place award in the ASPA contest.

“We enter our newspaper in this competition because there are judges who critique our staff’s journalistic skills,” explained The Lookout Adviser Larry Hook. “This is a good way for us to get some constructive criticism from some professionals in the journalism industry.

“Our staff during the 2016-17 school year was very talented. I am not surprised we earned this first-place ranking.”

Judges in the competition rated The Lookout very high in content, page design, art, advertising, illustrations and creativity. Overall, The Lookout earned 895 of a possible 1,000 points in the competition.

This was the second significant award The Lookout staff won in the past few months. In April, the staff earned second place for general excellence in the Michigan Community College Press Association competition.

Members of the 2016-17 staff at The Lookout were Aaron Emerson (editor in chief), Aaron Wilton, Hannah Anderson, Brodee Gillam, Lurah Peterson, Nicole Cade, Idman Gabayre, Haneen Hammad and Nick Thompson.