Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Lookout | July 13, 2020

Scroll to top


No Comments

The Lookout wins 15 journalism awards

The Lookout wins 15 journalism awards
The Lookout

Jeremy Kohn
Editor in Chief

The Lookout won 15 Michigan Community College Press Association awards for excellence in journalism, including first place in Overall Newspaper Design, during the MCCPA’s press day celebration April 9 at Central Michigan University.

The Lookout also earned second place in the Division I General Excellence category.

LCC was among nine community colleges represented at the conference. Students engaged in workshops led by professionals in the journalism world.  

Sessions were led by such personalities as Chad Livengood from The Detroit News, Brian Manzulo from the Detroit Free Press and Jake May from The Flint Journal.

The conference kicked off with two keynote speakers: Joseph V. Sowmick and Natalie Shattuck from the Tribal Observer of Mt. Pleasant. They shared their journalism knowledge and experiences as part of a Native American newspaper.

“Even as a working journalist, if you keep an open mind … then you are going to be willing to talk to all of those sources out there,” Sowmick said. “You are going to be a better journalist … More importantly you are going to be a better citizen.”

Following the conference, an awards banquet was held to announce students’ winning entries. The Lookout increased its number of awards, from nine in 2015, to 15 for 2016.

The Lookout Adviser Larry Hook spoke about the awards won by his staff.

“We have an amazing staff, and the 15 awards we won this year is a fitting tribute to the hard work that they put in this year,” Hook said.  “They are a well-rounded staff and I am really proud of them.

“Our redesign this year, spearheaded by (page designer) Nikki Nicolaou, was a big step for The Lookout and the results were awesome. The first-place award in Overall Design is something we take great pride in.”

The Lookout Sports Editor Rich Schenck won an honorable mention in the Sports News Story category, as well as a second-place award for Sports Feature Story.

“It’s fantastic to be recognized for the hard work you put in throughout the year,” Schenck said. “But the real joy, for me at least, is to see the other writers honored for their work, too.  It just shows the kind of talent we have at The Lookout and the quality of skills.”

Other awards won by The Lookout included:

  • Second places: Critical Review by Jaimie Bozack; Front Page Design for Brian Wells and Nikki Nicolaou; Photo Essay by Brian Wells; and Humorous Column by Shelby Schueller.
  • Honorable mention: Sports Feature by Aaron Emerson; Critical Review by Aaron Emerson; News Photo by Jaimie Bozack; News Photo by Brian Wells; Inside Page Design by Nikki Nicolaou; Entertainment Cartoon by Vincent Mata: and Online Newspaper, The Lookout staff.

Submit a Comment